top of page

"Blessed to be Mama Jessie’s Granddaughter" by Joan Coubarous



MAMA JESSIE

Born February 14, 1900

Parents: Robert Fisher and Julia Stilwell

McDonough, Georgia


I am so Thankful and Blessed to be the granddaughter of Jessie Harper Hill Larket (1900-1997). My grandmother was an entrepreneur, nutritionist, gardener, photographer, world traveler, fashionista, stewardess at her church, military wife, mother, grandmother, and great grandmother.


She owned her own catering business and worked for Senators, Mayors, Generals (General Colin Powell to name one) and citizens in her hometown of Leavenworth Kansas/Fort Leavenworth.



Our family often thinks of her as a nutritionist. “You need to eat your vegetables.” Often offering us asparagus, beets, spinach, green beans and much more. As a child I know I turned up my nose many times. Cream of wheat, shredded wheat, corn flakes were her choice of cereals.


Mama Jessie's Recipes


Oh, and she made sure you were getting your daily amount of water. She was on top of us in so many ways to make sure our bodies were getting the right nutrition. My grandmother loved flowers and working in her garden. In one the picture note that the city awarded her for her beautiful yard.


Photographer


Definitely a photographer. She would always have her camera on her. She loved to snap pictures. If it weren’t for her our family would not have all her memories captured with her camera.


World Traveler


World traveler. Yes. She loved to travel whether by train, bus, or airplane. I remember my first train ride with her was when she took my sister and I to Atlanta at a young age of 5 or 6. One the picture posted is of her in Spain. She traveled to Spain with my family when she was 82 years old.


Fashion


She loved fashion. Her favorite store was the Jones Store in Kansas City, Missouri. She purchased nothing but the best. I was fortunate to make that trip every now and then to pick out an outfit for me.


Church


My grandmother loved her church, Bethel AME Church where she was a member from 1922 until she passed in 1997. She was a faithful member.


Family


She was married twice. Each time to a Buffalo Soldier. She was proud to be a military wife. She is the mother of two daughters, Juanita, and Josephine. Grandmother and great-grandmother and great-grandmother.


There are so many stories I could tell you about my grandmother as she lived a long life. This I can tell you for sure I am Thankful and Blessed to be Mama Jessie’s granddaughter.


Robin R. Foster - (1).png

Hi, I'm Robin R. Foster

African American Family Historians | Our Stories (ourstoriesgja.com)

I am the co-founder and owner of Genealogy Just Ask, LLC at www.genealogyjustask.com.

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn
  • Instagram

Creativity. Productivity. Vision.

Subscribe

Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page