top of page

Clarence Adam Chick. Jr. (1929-1997) was an Editor-In-Chief at E. E. Smith High School in 1948


Newspaper Annual Staff at E. E. Smith High School in 1948. Clarence A. Chick, Jr. - Editor-in-Chief, Edythe Clarke - Associate Editor, Charlene Brown - Chm. Advertising Comm., Nettie Toomer - Chm. Contact Comm. "U.S., School Yearbooks, 1880-2012"; School Name: E E Smith High School; Year: 1948

I was doing my normal genealogy researching, and I stumbled upon a great find. I found out that my great-granduncle, Clarence A. Chick (1896-1966) had a son, Clarence Adam Chick, Jr. (1929-1997), that went to E. E. Smith High School in Fayetteville, North Carolina. Clarence Jr. was Editor-in-Chief during his last year of high school.


I had already found out he had served in the military and moved to California. I was surprised to see a high school in 1948 had a newspaper, and their staff had more responsibilities than I had. There's still so much that I have to learn about the Fayetteville, North Carolina area. Here's rest of the Annual Staff: Ancestry.com - U.S., School Yearbooks, 1900-2016.


I found out Clarence had been on the newspaper for three years. Clarence also involved in: Dramatics in 1948, Spanish Club in 1947, and Hi-Y from 1946 to 1948. I do not know what that is. I will have to find out.


"U.S., School Yearbooks, 1880-2012"; School Name: E E Smith High School; Year: 1948


Clarence was voted the most likely to succeed.

"U.S., School Yearbooks, 1880-2012"; School Name: E E Smith High School; Year: 1948

He is pictured in this photo of the newspaper staff. He is the young man standing on the right:

"U.S., School Yearbooks, 1880-2012"; School Name: E E Smith High School; Year: 1948

The senior class published the yearbook:


"U.S., School Yearbooks, 1880-2012"; School Name: E E Smith High School; Year: 1948

A photo of E. E. Smith High School:


"U.S., School Yearbooks, 1880-2012"; School Name: E E Smith High School; Year: 1948.

I am just fascinated by this. I want to know more about the school. It also had an elementary school in this yearbook. I will also see if there are any Fayetteville newspapers on Clarence or E. E. Smith High School. That will be good for starters. Here is E. E. Smith High School in 1948.



Check out one of my latest books!



Robin R. Foster - (1).png

Hi, I'm Robin R. Foster

African American Family Historians | Our Stories (ourstoriesgja.com)

I am the co-founder and owner of Genealogy Just Ask, LLC at www.genealogyjustask.com.

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn
  • Instagram

Creativity. Productivity. Vision.

Subscribe

Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page